Conan, Vol. 1: The Frost Giant's Daughter and Other StoriesConan, Vol. 1: The Frost Giant’s Daughter and Other Stories by Kurt Busiek

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have never read any Conan stories (I picked this up because I like Busiek’s other writing) so I can’t say how true these stories are to the Conan characters and world. From what I hear, Busiek has put his own spin on some preexisting Conan stories. What I can say is that I enjoyed these stories very much.

The book started slowly but improved as it went along. The biggest drag for me was the dialogue. I understood everything fine but it felt a little awkward because it was written to imitate the way people spoke centuries ago.

The art was good but wasn’t the style I had hoped for. It gave me the impression that this was a comic book for younger readers. I didn’t like this because comic books are, obviously, meant for completely mature adults like myself.

Overall, Conan is a great character who goes on some epic journeys. These stories strike me as a good starting point for new fans of ┬áConan and I look forward to reading more of the Cimmerian’s exploits!
View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

