The StrangerThe Stranger by Albert Camus

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

 

What does it mean to be human? I don’t know and Mersault certainly doesn’t know, but it’s interesting to think about.

I enjoyed the first part of the story where Mersault is just going through his life and we learn about his views and relationships. The second part, which is probably the part meant to incite more philosophical thought, did less for me. The whole thing with the trial felt too unreal for me.

Here’s one of my favorite quotes from The Stranger:

“Mostly, I could tell, I made him feel uncomfortable. He didn’t understand me, and he was sort of holding it against me. I felt the urge to reassure him that I was like everybody else, just like everybody else. But really there wasn’t much point, and I gave up the idea out of laziness.”

See all my book reviews on Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

