Emotional Agility: Get Unstuck, Embrace Change, and Thrive in Work and LifeEmotional Agility: Get Unstuck, Embrace Change, and Thrive in Work and Life by Susan David

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I read and enjoyed Susan David’s article on emotional agility a couple of years ago. As soon as I heard she wrote a book, I had to check it out. I’m glad I did. This was a good book.

David discussed a number of psychological principles and did a good job of explaining them all. She used personal and relevant examples that I could connect with. I particularly liked that she cited a lot of research and scientific studies to back up her arguments.

However, this book could have been better. There wasn’t much on how to implement the principles in your life. I understood everything she discussed, which is important because I think that was David’s primary goal with this book. But actually applying something to your life (in a meaningful way) is always the hardest part for people, so the book would have benefited more from concrete advice on implementation.

I also think the book could have been shortened with more concise writing. At times, the examples messed with the flow of the book. Examples are important- and David had some good ones- but having too many detract from the larger point.

To be frank, this book was not very new or groundbreaking. The material was good but I I was familiar with most of what she presented. Perhaps I have just read too many psychology books.

My conclusion: If you have never heard of emotional agility and have not read many psychology/self-improvement books, I recommend this book. If you have heard of emotional agility or have read other psychology books and articles, I suggest that you find Susan David’s emotional agility article in the Harvard Business Review.

Read all of my book reviews on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

